Laser Light Show starts at 7:30 pm. The Memorial is open 8:00 am to 8:00 pm. We close 1/2 hour after the Laser Light Show starts. Native Americans’ Day Program October 10, 2022, click to learn more.

Onsite & Outreach Education

Come Anytime or Pre-Book Your Visit:

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation Educator of the Year Award

In 2003, ©Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation created a tribute to American Indian educators. The Crazy Horse Educator of the Year Award honors an individual who has made significant contributions to Native American education. The award includes a $1,000 grant to fund the recipient’s student projects that make an impact.  The award is announced annually at the Native Americans’ Day Celebration at Crazy Horse Memorial®.

Past recipients include

  • 2003 - Martin Red Bear Jr., Resource Specialist, Rapid City Central High School
  • 2004 - Margery High Horse, Fourth-Grade Teacher, Our Lady of Lourdes Elementary School, Porcupine, SD. Terrie Jo Gibbons received special recognition for her work as an Art Teacher for the Shannon County School District
  • 2005 - Marlyce Miner, Social Studies Instructor, Jefferson Academy, Rapid City Area Schools
  • 2006 - Robert Cook, Social Studies Instructor, Jefferson Academy, Rapid City Area Schools
  • 2007 - Earl Bullhead, Lakota Language-Cultural Arts Instructor, Lower Brule High School and Lower Brule Community College
  • 2008 - Judy Whirlwind Horse, Fifth Grade Teacher, Cheyenne Eagle Butte Upper Elementary School
  • 2009 - Marcel Bull Bear, History-Genealogy-Lakota Culture Instructor, Oglala Lakota College, Kyle, SD
  • 2010 - Harriet Brings, Lakota Language-Traditions Teacher, North Middle School, Rapid City, SD
  • 2011 - Dr. Jason Murray, Assistant Professor of English, East Central University, Ada, Oklahoma. Murray served as the full-time Director of The Indian University of North America® from 2013-2015
  • 2012 - Barry Mann, High School Principal, St. Francis Indian School, Rosebud Indian Reservation
  • 2013 - Thomas "Tom" Shortbull, President of Oglala Lakota College in Kyle, SD
  • 2014 - Christopher Bordeaux, Executive Director, Oceti Sakowin Education Consortium
  • 2015 - Charlie Luecke, Professor, Postsecondary Advisor, Internship Coordinator, The Indian University of North America® Summer Program at Crazy Horse Memorial®
  • 2016 - Sergeant Todd Albertson, Freshman Impact Co-coordinator, South Dakota Highway Patrol - Northern Hills District
  • 2017 - Vaughn Vargas, Rapid City Police Department, Rapid City, SD
  • 2018 - Starr Chief Eagle
  • 2019 - Whitney Rencountre II, Rapid City, SD
  • 2020 - Jill D. Kessler, Certified School Counselor at Cheyenne-Eagle Butte High School, Eagle Butte, SD
  • 2021 - Jace DeCory, Professor Emeritus of Black Hills State University, Spearfish, SD